Text Problem

Doubts, help and support about QuickBMS and other game research tools
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Text Problem

Post by Shokoniraya »

im going to show two problem from QuickBMS 9.2.0

Problem 1) is There no way to get UTF-16 text by string (get TEXT string)?
as you can see. there is a file without any offset and size! is there any way to get text by string? (string) works fine in none-unicode or utf-8 mode but how is these possible to use on 2byte characters?
[check box_q.bms]


Problem 2) if text strat with numbers then string cant get other characters
for example: i have a simple file and i just did it with string? ofcource! text doesnt have any Size!

main text is 2 Hostage found!
but quickbms will show text same as 2 (with a space from main word!)
[check txl.bms]
aluigi
Site Admin
Posts: 12984
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm

Re: Text Problem

Post by aluigi »

1)
get TEXT unicode

2)
remove the text before and including the space
string TEXT | " "
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Text Problem

Post by Shokoniraya »

get TEXT unicode

but gives error

    quickbms.exe box_q.bms box_q
    Can't read 1 bytes from offset 00000065.
    Anyway don't worry, it's possible that the BMS script has been written
    to exit in this way if it's reached the end of the archive so check it
    or contact its author or verify that all the files have been extracted.
    Please check the following coverage information to know if it's ok.

    coverage file 0 100% 101 101 . offset 00000065

    Last script line before the error or that produced the error:
    6 get TEXT unicode
aluigi
Site Admin
Posts: 12984
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm

Re: Text Problem

Post by aluigi »

With text data I would ever use slog.
For example in that case:

Code: Select all

math OFFSET = 0xb
get SIZE asize
math SIZE - OFFSET
slog "" OFFSET SIZE unicode
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Text Problem

Post by Shokoniraya »

aluigi wrote:With text data I would ever use slog.
For example in that case:

Code: Select all

math OFFSET = 0xb
get SIZE asize
math SIZE - OFFSET
slog "" OFFSET SIZE unicode


can't use on multi-texts! just work on single!
aluigi
Site Admin
Posts: 12984
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm

Re: Text Problem

Post by aluigi »

What you mean with "multi-texts"?