Failed to export .locres file [Fortnite]

How to translate the files of a game
michoacano094
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:46 am

Failed to export .locres file [Fortnite]

Post by michoacano094 »

Hi, i'm trying to get some strings translations from Fortnite BR .locres files.

I've already tried 3 tools made here but it seems like maybe the .locres format is different? or the tool here only works with certain UE versions?

I'd love to get any kind of information about another tool here or if there is another way to get .locres file ordered.

I've attached an example of what i'm talking about.

As i said, i've already tried using old and new .locres export tool made by some user here. The first one (old) just stays as a tray icon and does nothing. The second one says "Finished" but just creates a text file with new lines.

Thanks in advance.
akintos
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by akintos »

Currently available locres tools are for format 1 locres files.

locres file you uploaded is format 2, which is updated recently.

https://github.com/EpicGames/UnrealEngi ... e.cpp#L198

Here's the source code of locres reader, someone will update the tool.
michoacano094
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:46 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by michoacano094 »

akintos wrote:Currently available locres tools are for format 1 locres files.

locres file you uploaded is format 2, which is updated recently.

https://github.com/EpicGames/UnrealEngi ... e.cpp#L198

Here's the source code of locres reader, someone will update the tool.


Well, i'll have to try to understand that code or hope for someone to update the tool u.u.

anyway, thanks for the information.
akintos
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by akintos »

https://pastebin.com/fgAQYxRK

Here's dump of locres file in JSON format.
michoacano094
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:46 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by michoacano094 »

akintos wrote:https://pastebin.com/fgAQYxRK

Here's dump of locres file in JSON format.


OMG, amazing.

Thank you very much.

May i ask How? instead of just ask for the job to be done?
akintos
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 7:48 pm

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by akintos »

I have my own locres tool to translate Unreal games. Updated it to support new format.

It is not yet ready to be released as a standalone tool, sorry.
MerlinSVK
Posts: 165
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:00 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by MerlinSVK »

Can be texts edited in Fortnite? I mean is there any file checking?
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by Shokoniraya »

here. it is so bad because QuickBMS can not support text importing in bigger size.
i can write so many text script but aluigi said not used in 99% times. but i talking about text. not archive files!
[Script Updated]

updated script for old and new files. not can Support all version

Code: Select all

get CHECKER_FILESWQ long
if CHECKER_FILESWQ == 1970541582 | CHECKER_FILESWQ == 1
goto 0
get HEAD long
if HEAD == 1970541582
get DUMMY byte
get DUMMY longlong
get DUMMY long
get OFFSET long
goto OFFSET
get COUNT long
goto OFFSET
endif
if HEAD != 1970541582
goto 0
get DUMMY longlong
get COUNT long
endif

for i = 0 < COUNT
math UNICODED = 0
if HEAD != 1970541582
get SIZE long
savepos OFFID
math SIZE a SIZE
math SIZE * 2
getdstring DUMMY SIZE
endif
savepos VERSION
getdstring DUMMY 3
get TEST byte
goto VERSION
if HEAD == 1970541582
if TEST == 0
get ID long
endif
endif
if TEST == 255
math COUNING + 1
endif
if HEAD != 1970541582
get ID long
endif
savepos PROCESSES
get LENGTH long
savepos TEXTOFF
math LENGTH -= 1
goto PROCESSES
getdstring CHECKER 3
get UNICODE_FILE_CHECKER byte
if UNICODE_FILE_CHECKER == 255
math LENGTH += 1
math LENGTH a LENGTH
math LENGTH * 2
math LENGTH -= 2
get DUMMY byte
math UNICODED + 1
endif
getdstring TEXT LENGTH
get DUMMY byte
if UNICODED = 0
slog "" TEXTOFF LENGTH
endif
if UNICODED = 1
slog "" TEXTOFF LENGTH unicode
endif
next i
cleanexit
else
goto 0
print "\n\nERROR: Your File Is NOT a .locres file at all, or not supported yet!\n\n"
endFunction
Last edited by Shokoniraya on Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:00 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Delutto
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by Delutto »

Shokoniraya wrote:here. it is so bad because QuickBMS can not support text importing in bigger size.
Of course it supports. You are talking about of REIMPORT feature, this is another history...
You just need write another script to make the inverse process and run this script in the same way you run the export script.
This your script read the *.locres file and write a txt file, right? So you just need write another script, this time your script need to read both *.locres and *.txt files and write a new *.locres file.
I can't find a example right now, but you certanly will find something like that in Graphic file formats section, in old threads...
Your help will be very welcome here in the Game Localization section, I've been very lazy lately... :oops:
swuforce
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 4:39 pm

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by swuforce »

Here is a simple example to write a rebilder script for text with Quickbms.
And here an other: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=680
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by Shokoniraya »

swuforce wrote:Here is a simple example to write a rebilder script for text with Quickbms.
And here an other: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=680

with MEMOEY_FILE and append its possible
But need to do it for each file :?
a reimport feature for text file without offset can be great in localization file
sir Delutto, i know, but one script can support all, but in another script we must write Odds for every file!
Last edited by Shokoniraya on Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by Shokoniraya »

Script Updated, now its Work even on Old .locres Files
michoacano094
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:46 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by michoacano094 »

Thank you guys!

But, what if i have a bigger .locres file? is it impossible to extract the strings? I'm trying on a 1.5mb file and it seems to be broken with that one. :(

However, thanks for all of your help!

https://prnt.sc/mbmind
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by Shokoniraya »

michoacano094 wrote:Thank you guys!

But, what if i have a bigger .locres file? is it impossible to extract the strings? I'm trying on a 1.5mb file and it seems to be broken with that one. :(

However, thanks for all of your help!

https://prnt.sc/mbmind


i want to Update Script. but are you sure your file is original? or not edited before?
you better give a english file
michoacano094
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:46 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by michoacano094 »

Shokoniraya wrote:
michoacano094 wrote:Thank you guys!

But, what if i have a bigger .locres file? is it impossible to extract the strings? I'm trying on a 1.5mb file and it seems to be broken with that one. :(

However, thanks for all of your help!

https://prnt.sc/mbmind


i want to Update Script. but are you sure your file is original? or not edited before?
you better give a english file


omg, you were right, the file that i was trying to use as input was an edited one :roll: .

btw, would it be possible to concat the string and the id? or get the ids ordered as the strings text file?
morefun1314
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:44 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by morefun1314 »

Shokoniraya wrote:Script Updated, now its Work even on Old .locres Files

i can't export .locares ,too.
can u help me?i can't find the new script.
here is file,thanks
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by Shokoniraya »

morefun1314 wrote:
Shokoniraya wrote:Script Updated, now its Work even on Old .locres Files

i can't export .locares ,too.
can u help me?i can't find the new script.
here is file,thanks


so, name of the game?
morefun1314
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:44 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by morefun1314 »

Shokoniraya wrote:
morefun1314 wrote:
Shokoniraya wrote:Script Updated, now its Work even on Old .locres Files

i can't export .locares ,too.
can u help me?i can't find the new script.
here is file,thanks


so, name of the game?

Thanks.here is link :https://store.steampowered.com/app/722180/SURV1V3/
Shokoniraya
Posts: 416
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by Shokoniraya »

morefun1314 wrote:Thanks.here is link :https://store.steampowered.com/app/722180/SURV1V3/
morefun1314
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:44 am

Re: Failed to export .locres file

Post by morefun1314 »

Shokoniraya wrote:
morefun1314 wrote:Thanks.here is link :https://store.steampowered.com/app/722180/SURV1V3/

Awesome !!is there way to reimport?