Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:23 am
Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
These are the files from the 'Star Wars Battlefront III Pre-Alpha (Xbox 360)' - which were extracted from .PAK using this quickBMS script: http://hl.altervista.org/split.php?http ... /swbf3.bms
Only one program is available atm which can convert/open these models which is: http://www.unwrap3d.com/u3d/downloads.aspx but it costs: $59.95. And using it just to convert some models is not worth it. There are a lot more people who wish to use/look at these models. Wondering if anybody could create a script to get the models in a usable format (with uvs) such as FBX with multi sub object materials working (correct uvs). Attached is 3 sample Krayt dragon .rax files models.
Only one program is available atm which can convert/open these models which is: http://www.unwrap3d.com/u3d/downloads.aspx but it costs: $59.95. And using it just to convert some models is not worth it. There are a lot more people who wish to use/look at these models. Wondering if anybody could create a script to get the models in a usable format (with uvs) such as FBX with multi sub object materials working (correct uvs). Attached is 3 sample Krayt dragon .rax files models.
-
- Posts: 124
- Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:13 pm
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
Here is a blend file to import .rax files.
It needs to install Blender version 249b and Python version 26x ( both 32 bits ).
First copy "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" to Noesis plugins\python dir.
Doubleclick "Blender249.blend" and in Blender Text Window :
========You need paste correct path to noesis IN LINE 7===========
Than press alt+p and select .rax file.
DONT MOVE MOUSE and WAIT for questions:
Most important is menu, where you must select number: 8,12,16,20.
Most for rigged models select 12.
Most for static like ships select 8.
But not always works, so try others
If you paste correct path to noesis you got messeges from Noesis, skip... or look at Blender console
and you can read filesize for .x2t file , which is not supported by Noesis and than paste new code in Noesis script like
So, one more time:
- copy noesis script
- make correct path for Noesis
Sorry for bad english.
Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Blender script don't import normal and specular textures.
It needs to install Blender version 249b and Python version 26x ( both 32 bits ).
First copy "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" to Noesis plugins\python dir.
Doubleclick "Blender249.blend" and in Blender Text Window :
========You need paste correct path to noesis IN LINE 7===========
Code: Select all
import newGameLib
from newGameLib import *
import Blender
noesisPath="D:\\game3DmodelImporter\\tools\\Noesis\\noesisv412\\Noesis.exe" #HERE HERE HERE
def raxParser(filename,g):
if os.path.exists(noesisPath)==False:
Blender.Draw.PupMenu("set correct Noesis path: line 69")
result=1
Than press alt+p and select .rax file.
DONT MOVE MOUSE and WAIT for questions:
Most important is menu, where you must select number: 8,12,16,20.
Most for rigged models select 12.
Most for static like ships select 8.
But not always works, so try others
If you paste correct path to noesis you got messeges from Noesis, skip... or look at Blender console
and you can read filesize for .x2t file , which is not supported by Noesis and than paste new code in Noesis script like
Code: Select all
if len(data)==1441816:
imgFmt = 2 #set the image format 1 2 3 4 5 6
imgWidth = 1024 #set the image width
imgHeight = 1024 #set the image height
So, one more time:
- copy noesis script
- make correct path for Noesis
Sorry for bad english.
Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Blender script don't import normal and specular textures.
Last edited by Szkaradek123 on Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:23 am
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
Szkaradek123 wrote:Here is a blend file to import .rax files.
It needs to install Blender version 249b and Python version 26x ( both 32 bits ).
First copy "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" to Noesis plugins\python dir.
Doubleclick "Blender249.blend" and in Blender Text Window :
========You need paste correct path to noesis IN LINE 7===========Code: Select all
import newGameLib
from newGameLib import *
import Blender
noesisPath="D:\\game3DmodelImporter\\tools\\Noesis\\noesisv412\\Noesis.exe" #HERE HERE HERE
def raxParser(filename,g):
if os.path.exists(noesisPath)==False:
Blender.Draw.PupMenu("set correct Noesis path: line 69")
result=1
Than press alt+p and select .rax file.
DONT MOVE MOUSE and WAIT for questions:
Most important is menu, where you must select number: 8,12,16,20.
Most for rigged models select 12.
Most for static like ships select 8.
But not always works, so try others
If you paste correct path to noesis you got messeges from Noesis, skip... or look at Blender console
and you can read filesize for .x2t file , which is not supported by Noesis and than paste new code in Noesis script likeCode: Select all
if len(data)==1441816:
imgFmt = 2 #set the image format 1 2 3 4 5 6
imgWidth = 1024 #set the image width
imgHeight = 1024 #set the image height
So, one more time:
- copy noesis script
- make correct path for Noesis
Sorry for bad english.
Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Script dont import normal and specular textures.
Very nice work! Appreciate it.
Just two things. Would you be able to add normal map,specular map,alpha map functionality (pretty much the other maps the game uses) since they are integral for the look/quality models.
And would animation importing be possible?/Does it work already? (I heard frames would be missing but apparently they can be fixed by manually editing the points back and forth to a correct ones after importation).
Found some animations samples here from an older post: http://www.mediafire.com/file/9lexh24wl ... ations.rar
-
- Posts: 706
- Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:06 am
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
about the x2t files, my Noesis script will open all images in the game, you just have to set format, width and height by hand,
but it can not always work by file size because you can have a dxt1 and dxt5 image the same file size but with
different dimensions, or same format but with height and width dimension swapped. i have a slightly better script that
tries to read footer data when it exist and guesses other based on file size but have not yet released because i believe some
where in the game files there must exist a file with info for all footer less images in the game.
edit
link to release thread on Xentax
http://forum.xentax.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=13868
but it can not always work by file size because you can have a dxt1 and dxt5 image the same file size but with
different dimensions, or same format but with height and width dimension swapped. i have a slightly better script that
tries to read footer data when it exist and guesses other based on file size but have not yet released because i believe some
where in the game files there must exist a file with info for all footer less images in the game.
edit
link to release thread on Xentax
http://forum.xentax.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=13868
Last edited by Acewell on Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:36 pm
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
interesting numbers. i shoulda tried those for the madagascar thing. i bruteforced it with math.
i have the 70217 rar here too. is that the one? i could have a look at the files too.
i have the 70217 rar here too. is that the one? i could have a look at the files too.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:23 am
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
episoder wrote:interesting numbers. i shoulda tried those for the madagascar thing. i bruteforced it with math.
i have the 70217 rar here too. is that the one? i could have a look at the files too.
Yep that is correct. Only one which was leaked.
-
- Posts: 123
- Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:36 pm
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
okay. extraced that load (again? i think i did once before), and.. i think there is no file with header *cough* footer data. it seems it's just how incomplete and broken this alpha build is. i mean... the footers are there. they are just empty. so... no point holding back the script imo.
my head burned out already tryna compute and merge the read data with this other format numbers. not a good day to hex.
my head burned out already tryna compute and merge the read data with this other format numbers. not a good day to hex.
-
- Posts: 124
- Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:13 pm
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
@Acewell
...about the x2t files, my Noesis script will open all images in the game...
Sorry my mistake in :
...Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Script dont import normal and specular textures....
Of course i should to write : "Blender script" . My stupid language design....
...about the x2t files, my Noesis script will open all images in the game...
Sorry my mistake in :
...Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Script dont import normal and specular textures....
Of course i should to write : "Blender script" . My stupid language design....
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:06 pm
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
the blender script works for interior and big files ??
example: tributary interior
example: tributary interior
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:39 pm
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
Szkaradek123 wrote:@Acewell
...about the x2t files, my Noesis script will open all images in the game...
Sorry my mistake in :
...Ach forgot, "fmt_SWBF3_x2t.py" by Acewell
Script dont import normal and specular textures....
Of course i should to write : "Blender script" . My stupid language design....
Hello Szkaradek123!!! I tried to use this Blender script to import .rax files, but the program does not load the assets. I am using version 249b of Blender and Phyton 2.6.2. Should the content of the files "Blender249 [Psk] [Psa] [2014-08-31]" be inside the Blender directory? I can open the script and enter the path to Noesis, press Alt + P and select the .rax file, but it does not load.
-
- Posts: 124
- Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:13 pm
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
I always install Blender and Python , and all blend files after double click open with Blender.
It is very easy.
I don't click icon of Blender , but only blend file - in this case "Blender249.blend".
If blend file dont want open with Blender check properties (RBM) what soft open blend file and change to Blender.exe - version 249b
No need to copy any file to Blender directory .
It is very easy.
I don't click icon of Blender , but only blend file - in this case "Blender249.blend".
If blend file dont want open with Blender check properties (RBM) what soft open blend file and change to Blender.exe - version 249b
No need to copy any file to Blender directory .
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:23 am
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
Szkaradek123 wrote:I always install Blender and Python , and all blend files after double click open with Blender.
It is very easy.
I don't click icon of Blender , but only blend file - in this case "Blender249.blend".
If blend file dont want open with Blender check properties (RBM) what soft open blend file and change to Blender.exe - version 249b
No need to copy any file to Blender directory .
Any chance of importing animations? Would really complete it. But might be tricky.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 9:33 am
Re: Star Wars Battlefront III - .rax Model Files
YoYoCoruscant wrote:Szkaradek123 wrote:I always install Blender and Python , and all blend files after double click open with Blender.
It is very easy.
I don't click icon of Blender , but only blend file - in this case "Blender249.blend".
If blend file dont want open with Blender check properties (RBM) what soft open blend file and change to Blender.exe - version 249b
No need to copy any file to Blender directory .
Any chance of importing animations? Would really complete it. But might be tricky.
has anyone figured out how to implement debug functions or to modify the games frame rate?