Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Temporary release. Can be used with .model files extracted with JediJosh tool.
If I decide to make custom model import tool, it will be also posted here.
Temporary release. Can be used with .model files extracted with JediJosh tool.
If I decide to make custom model import tool, it will be also posted here.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
After all the tests, I decided to release my custom model import tool, because it seems it will be very useful for the community. Before release I will try and add a few more most important features to it, such as multi-mesh support, and then release it.
Then I plan to look into PS4 Peter's head and see if it will be possible to port it to PC.
Then I plan to look into PS4 Peter's head and see if it will be possible to port it to PC.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Custom model import tool v0.3 beta
It INJECTS geometry/skin data from ascii to model.
Usage: spiderman_pc_mi.exe <model> <ascii>
The model used is just a template for injection. It better be original advanced suit (hero_spiderman_body.model), because i only tested it, as it has lots of materials and many vertices. After you mod it, you can replace any model with it. Also you CAN try other suits, but no guarantee.
It will also output a "check" ascii, which is a passthrough to make sure it work or not, also that ascii will have a list of materials used for reference.
It INJECTS geometry/skin data from ascii to model.
Usage: spiderman_pc_mi.exe <model> <ascii>
The model used is just a template for injection. It better be original advanced suit (hero_spiderman_body.model), because i only tested it, as it has lots of materials and many vertices. After you mod it, you can replace any model with it. Also you CAN try other suits, but no guarantee.
It will also output a "check" ascii, which is a passthrough to make sure it work or not, also that ascii will have a list of materials used for reference.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
First of all, as i said, this was supposed to be my own test tool, that i made for reversing/testing needs, so i'm not surprised people are struggling with using it.
About materials.
Its different things, if you want to change existing model, or create a new one. I didnt expect people trying to use the tool this way.
The materials in the new model are assigned in natural order: 0, 1, 2, 3, etc
While in existing model they are assigned in the order devs did it. For example, for advanced suit its: 13, 10, 14, 7, 4, ...
Thats why it looks like they are "messed up".
About materials.
Its different things, if you want to change existing model, or create a new one. I didnt expect people trying to use the tool this way.
The materials in the new model are assigned in natural order: 0, 1, 2, 3, etc
While in existing model they are assigned in the order devs did it. For example, for advanced suit its: 13, 10, 14, 7, 4, ...
Thats why it looks like they are "messed up".
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
4 weights is not the limit of the format. I just did first experiments with 4 to avoid possible problems. But when yesterday i tried to add more, i messed up something in my code, and it ruined the skin. So since i had no time to investigate the issue, i just reverted back to 4 for this beta release.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 10:32 am
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
How do I import the .ascii into a .model? Ive been trying with the tool but it wont work
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 5:20 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
im ignorant af, not a modder just excited to see this coming along. i downloaded the tool, its just a cmd that opens for about two seconds then closes. how am i meant to use this? again, forgive my ignorance.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Here is version 0.31 beta
The only change is it's supposed to fix the LOD problem. Also may fix some FPS drops.
The only change is it's supposed to fix the LOD problem. Also may fix some FPS drops.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 12:00 am
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
it doesnt open it just closes
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Version 0.32 beta
Changes:
- FPS drop must be finally fixed
- changed "too many vertices" message. Its actually 65535 max.
Changes:
- FPS drop must be finally fixed
- changed "too many vertices" message. Its actually 65535 max.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Version 0.4 beta
Changes:
- support for static meshes (map assets etc.)
- support for almost any skeletal mesh if they have no more than 256 bones in their skeleton
Changes:
- support for static meshes (map assets etc.)
- support for almost any skeletal mesh if they have no more than 256 bones in their skeleton
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Version 0.41 beta
- LOD problem fixed again
- test output .ascii from model import tool now has "modout" suffix, to not confuse it with clean .ascii file
- added check for maximum vertex/face counts, in case of overflow tool stops with a message
- fixed some rare models (for example iron spiders legs)
- removed "face fail" message, we dont need it anymore
- direct material assignment on import
This last feature will be described in details below.
- LOD problem fixed again
- test output .ascii from model import tool now has "modout" suffix, to not confuse it with clean .ascii file
- added check for maximum vertex/face counts, in case of overflow tool stops with a message
- fixed some rare models (for example iron spiders legs)
- removed "face fail" message, we dont need it anymore
- direct material assignment on import
This last feature will be described in details below.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Direct material assignment
=========================================
In short, new export tool now exports text material list, and you can edit this file, and it will be used on import. Now if you just export any model and import it back, it will work, and materials will not be changed.
So the process is now:
- export .model with new spiderman_pc_model.exe
- edit the model or make a new one
- edit materials list
- use spiderman_pc_mi.exe tool as before
Now on a last step, if there is "materials.txt" file with same name as .model file, import tool will assign materials to meshes according to that list. Or if no such file, in natural order like before.
If you dont want to re-export a model, you can make such material list in text editor.
You can edit this file as you like, but don't delete the 1st line "Materials used:".
For convenience, you can delete lines, or move them above/below. Names are not needed, you can just set numbers. The tool only reads numbers in first list, everything else is ignored. Slots in 2nd list are only for reference.
Note that materials can repeat.
p.s. if blender will still somehow mess up meshes order, you will have to rename them, but hopefully this will not happen, because tool now names them with leading zeroes and without underscore.
=========================================
In short, new export tool now exports text material list, and you can edit this file, and it will be used on import. Now if you just export any model and import it back, it will work, and materials will not be changed.
So the process is now:
- export .model with new spiderman_pc_model.exe
- edit the model or make a new one
- edit materials list
- use spiderman_pc_mi.exe tool as before
Now on a last step, if there is "materials.txt" file with same name as .model file, import tool will assign materials to meshes according to that list. Or if no such file, in natural order like before.
If you dont want to re-export a model, you can make such material list in text editor.
You can edit this file as you like, but don't delete the 1st line "Materials used:".
For convenience, you can delete lines, or move them above/below. Names are not needed, you can just set numbers. The tool only reads numbers in first list, everything else is ignored. Slots in 2nd list are only for reference.
Note that materials can repeat.
p.s. if blender will still somehow mess up meshes order, you will have to rename them, but hopefully this will not happen, because tool now names them with leading zeroes and without underscore.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Version 0.45 beta
- supports up to 15 weights per vertex
- added a check for ovefloating weight buffer
The tool will now read all no-zero weights from the file, but no more than 15.
Then it will check weight sum is 1.0, and if not, make warnings.
After that all weights will be automatically normalized.
That means even if you're lazy, model will look ok in game.
But for experts i recommend to check what's wrong and correct it before import.
- supports up to 15 weights per vertex
- added a check for ovefloating weight buffer
The tool will now read all no-zero weights from the file, but no more than 15.
Then it will check weight sum is 1.0, and if not, make warnings.
After that all weights will be automatically normalized.
That means even if you're lazy, model will look ok in game.
But for experts i recommend to check what's wrong and correct it before import.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Version 0.5 beta
- fixed all crashes / fps drops / lags
(may even fix other unknown bugs/problems)
- submesh limit is now much bigger, all lods instead of just one. Example: 89 submeshes for adv. suit
Everyone is HIGHLY recommended to update their mods done with previous versions of a tool.
Already modded .model will do, but better used on clean original .model file.
- fixed all crashes / fps drops / lags
(may even fix other unknown bugs/problems)
- submesh limit is now much bigger, all lods instead of just one. Example: 89 submeshes for adv. suit
Everyone is HIGHLY recommended to update their mods done with previous versions of a tool.
Already modded .model will do, but better used on clean original .model file.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2022 10:32 am
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Sometimes it will mess up the weights, for example, some of the weights, like the foot, may have a tiny but of random red spots on the hand fsr. And if this happens to a lot of the weights this can completely break the model.
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Version 0.51 beta
- limited weights per vertex to 12
It was a mistake that this game supports 15 or 16 weights, its only 12 max.
- limited weights per vertex to 12
It was a mistake that this game supports 15 or 16 weights, its only 12 max.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2022 11:13 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
Is there a download link that isn't infected with viruses?
-
- Posts: 1040
- Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:09 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
nianthma wrote:Is there a download link that isn't infected with viruses?
the link is NOT infected
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2022 3:31 pm
Re: Spiderman Remastered (PC) model tool
ty for the hard work!