REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 4:29 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
Is it possible to add the possibility to create an archive containing only the edited files?
I mean, if the process of reimporting works it's ok and all, but if someone wants to release only a small patch it becomes a bit strange if the patch is larger than the original archive.
If someone edits only a few MBs worthy text files it would be good to be able to reimport only them. There are games which natively supports patches, so it would be cool if the reimporter could simply create a new archive containing only the edited files and ignore the untouched ones. As of now, if I delete the unused files, the program will simply keep the original ones and add the others.
I don't know how hard this feature could be to implement, I'm just making a suggestion of improvement. Thanks.
I mean, if the process of reimporting works it's ok and all, but if someone wants to release only a small patch it becomes a bit strange if the patch is larger than the original archive.
If someone edits only a few MBs worthy text files it would be good to be able to reimport only them. There are games which natively supports patches, so it would be cool if the reimporter could simply create a new archive containing only the edited files and ignore the untouched ones. As of now, if I delete the unused files, the program will simply keep the original ones and add the others.
I don't know how hard this feature could be to implement, I'm just making a suggestion of improvement. Thanks.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
If you want to distribute a patch you can use those tools that create delta patches. Basically you are going to distribute only the "difference" between the old archive and the new one.
Quickbms can only reimport the files.
There is an experimental option that allows to set the content of the files in the archive to zeroes, it's an idea for various possible usages, but it's totally useless in this case because the game is going to read the references to the zeroed files.
Quickbms can only reimport the files.
There is an experimental option that allows to set the content of the files in the archive to zeroes, it's an idea for various possible usages, but it's totally useless in this case because the game is going to read the references to the zeroed files.
-
- Posts: 49
- Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:34 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
Just use u4pak (https://github.com/panzi/u4pak).
Basically it can make a new .pak file with only the edited files in it, and the game reads from it (so if you only edit the .locres file, just pack it into a .pak file, and the game will use that).
Basically it can make a new .pak file with only the edited files in it, and the game reads from it (so if you only edit the .locres file, just pack it into a .pak file, and the game will use that).
-
- Posts: 223
- Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:09 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
lostprophet wrote:Just use u4pak (https://github.com/panzi/u4pak).
Basically it can make a new .pak file with only the edited files in it, and the game reads from it (so if you only edit the .locres file, just pack it into a .pak file, and the game will use that).
Doesn't work on Darksiders III.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:50 am
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
I want some files to be deleted from .pak file, so I made files with the same filename but with zero size (0 byte), and when I use reimport2 to add them instead of the original files, it fails. How can I do that?
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:14 am
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
Hello .,
I have a suggestion.
Can we keep TOC and all asset chunks SEPARATED in real device
(when the game engine accepts uncompressed/unencrypted asset chunks),
and make a virtual file which (virtually) merges them together?
(that means, for example, copy /b TOC.0+chunk.1+chunk.2+...+chunk.999 arc.bin on REAL device, is same as that VIRTUALIZED arc.bin)
The reason is,
most game archives nowdays are made to stuff bluray disc, they're very unfriendly to PC storage.
If we keep asset chunks separated, we can hardlink all the duplicates and apply OS native compression on specific type of asset.
For example,
In Yakuza0, all archives (*.par) sums up 13.9GB,
after unpack, hardlink the duplicates, and apply "compact /C /I /S /EXE:LZX", it results 6.7GB.
Also many Unity indies have a lot duplicated large textures in their game archive.
I know this can be done with a kernel32 proxy dll, with CreateFile, ReadFile, SetFilePointer etc. hooked,
But I am looking for a more generalized solution like Dokan/Dokany (github.com/dokan-dev/dokany) , pfmap (pismotec.com/download) or CBFS (http://www.callbacktechnologies.com/cbfsconnect).
I actually made a QuickBMS-fs with Dokan before, which similar to: github.com/dorvan/chunking-filesystem,
for random accessing without extracting the whole archive (lost those codes as my old laptop hard drive broke).
Now I hope this can be supported natively. (in reverse way)
In conclusion,
I think keep separated/split chunks on real hard disk, and feed the game executable with a virtually merged archive,
can fulfill these two purposes:
1. Reduce disk space waste on PC due to the console/BD disc-affiliated archiving.
(duplicated asset across archives, both compressible and incompressible type of resource in one archive ,etc)
2. Avoid repeatedly packing/unpacking when moding, which can actually harm your hard drive.
I have a suggestion.
Can we keep TOC and all asset chunks SEPARATED in real device
(when the game engine accepts uncompressed/unencrypted asset chunks),
and make a virtual file which (virtually) merges them together?
(that means, for example, copy /b TOC.0+chunk.1+chunk.2+...+chunk.999 arc.bin on REAL device, is same as that VIRTUALIZED arc.bin)
The reason is,
most game archives nowdays are made to stuff bluray disc, they're very unfriendly to PC storage.
If we keep asset chunks separated, we can hardlink all the duplicates and apply OS native compression on specific type of asset.
For example,
In Yakuza0, all archives (*.par) sums up 13.9GB,
after unpack, hardlink the duplicates, and apply "compact /C /I /S /EXE:LZX", it results 6.7GB.
Also many Unity indies have a lot duplicated large textures in their game archive.
I know this can be done with a kernel32 proxy dll, with CreateFile, ReadFile, SetFilePointer etc. hooked,
But I am looking for a more generalized solution like Dokan/Dokany (github.com/dokan-dev/dokany) , pfmap (pismotec.com/download) or CBFS (http://www.callbacktechnologies.com/cbfsconnect).
I actually made a QuickBMS-fs with Dokan before, which similar to: github.com/dorvan/chunking-filesystem,
for random accessing without extracting the whole archive (lost those codes as my old laptop hard drive broke).
Now I hope this can be supported natively. (in reverse way)
In conclusion,
I think keep separated/split chunks on real hard disk, and feed the game executable with a virtually merged archive,
can fulfill these two purposes:
1. Reduce disk space waste on PC due to the console/BD disc-affiliated archiving.
(duplicated asset across archives, both compressible and incompressible type of resource in one archive ,etc)
2. Avoid repeatedly packing/unpacking when moding, which can actually harm your hard drive.
Last edited by moiennepe on Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
quickbms works sequentially on the archives and doesn't maintain a "status" for each entry.
In that situation quickbms should first work in "list" mode (like -l) for collecting all the files entries.
Then maintain this tree for the virtual filesystem.
When the user selects the file try to "recover" the status of the file entry (that isn't available) for reading the file.
It's a huge work on which I already tought various times years ago, last time was when I implemented the ISO and ZIP file output.
Best solution is having a PC with 32Gb RAM and creating a ramdisk of 24Gb where extracting the files, problem solved
In that situation quickbms should first work in "list" mode (like -l) for collecting all the files entries.
Then maintain this tree for the virtual filesystem.
When the user selects the file try to "recover" the status of the file entry (that isn't available) for reading the file.
It's a huge work on which I already tought various times years ago, last time was when I implemented the ISO and ZIP file output.
Best solution is having a PC with 32Gb RAM and creating a ramdisk of 24Gb where extracting the files, problem solved
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:06 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
hi, i have a problem with compressed file size.
when i use reimport2 it bypass file size problem but at the end it change original file size soo the game don't launch and stay on logo.
.bak file is the original file.
anyone can help me please ? thanks in advance.
when i use reimport2 it bypass file size problem but at the end it change original file size soo the game don't launch and stay on logo.
.bak file is the original file.
anyone can help me please ? thanks in advance.
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:06 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
ferhat78 wrote:hi, i have a problem with compressed file size.
when i use reimport2 it bypass file size problem but at the end it change original file size soo the game don't launch and stay on logo.
.bak file is the original file.
anyone can help me please ? thanks in advance.
anyone please ?
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:57 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
ferhat78,
You're repeating editions..? I think you will only find susceptible stages of file corruption.
Did you repack the same file using Reimport 2 more than two/ three times?
Reimport1 I think is more flexible to reimport the main file countless times (although it is restricted to the same size for compression).
But as for Reimport2. I believe. Even if i have a vague experience of version 2. Use with great caution.
Because Reimport2 despite being a luxury tool to recompose all possible, considering the possibility to force the entry of all larger files, Remport2 is still inefficient for multiple reimports of large files to the same location, try to modify all your folders smaller, making last recomposition of all of them only once to the final file.
No Make rectifications of larger compressions several times to the final file, you must resort to the error and consequently to the compromise of your base.
You're repeating editions..? I think you will only find susceptible stages of file corruption.
Did you repack the same file using Reimport 2 more than two/ three times?
Reimport1 I think is more flexible to reimport the main file countless times (although it is restricted to the same size for compression).
But as for Reimport2. I believe. Even if i have a vague experience of version 2. Use with great caution.
Because Reimport2 despite being a luxury tool to recompose all possible, considering the possibility to force the entry of all larger files, Remport2 is still inefficient for multiple reimports of large files to the same location, try to modify all your folders smaller, making last recomposition of all of them only once to the final file.
No Make rectifications of larger compressions several times to the final file, you must resort to the error and consequently to the compromise of your base.
Last edited by luiscarlosapeu on Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:57 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
Depending on what you are working on, it may not work, even if it is a compression performed only once by Reimport2.
If I'm wrong, correct me. But maybe Reimport 2 does not compensate or modify just once. Because functionally, it must generate many errors due to the disproportionality of the file becoming most of the time so large, which can cause conflicts depending on the root that the original file requires to be supported.
Sorry for the English.
If I'm wrong, correct me. But maybe Reimport 2 does not compensate or modify just once. Because functionally, it must generate many errors due to the disproportionality of the file becoming most of the time so large, which can cause conflicts depending on the root that the original file requires to be supported.
Sorry for the English.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
reimport2 is not efficient for multiple reimporting of the same file (like new versions) because the structure of the archive is modified everytime the updated file is longer (longer than the last update, not just longer than the original file), since it gets appended at the end enlarging the archive each time.
-
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 1:58 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
I try to reimport Files after modify them into the APOC Client ( Ashes )
When I do so I get the following Message for every file:
Doing so, makes the game crash on loading (He cannot read the Pack File at all)
Using the Old Method (Reimport v1) result in the following Error:
When I do so I get the following Message for every file:
Code: Select all
KEY:
< 0000000000000000 0 Store\ItemDefinitions\Armor\Cape\APP_CMN_PLT_M_CPE_A_0.uasset
- Variable 1 ("0") at line 198 is constant but the script tries to edit it.
Do you want to continue anyway (y/N)?
Doing so, makes the game crash on loading (He cannot read the Pack File at all)
Using the Old Method (Reimport v1) result in the following Error:
Code: Select all
EpicAccountId:
Assertion failed: [File:Unknown] [Line: 3510] Pak Decompression failed. PakFile:../../../APOC/Content/Paks/pakchunk1-WindowsClient.pak, EntryOffset:616272857, EntrySize:161, Method:Zlib, ProcessedSize:393, RawSize:161, Crc32:3952538542, BlockIndex:0, Encrypt:0, Delete:0, Output:0000023B83AAA340, Raw:0000023B80753B80, Processed:0000000000000000, Bytes:[78DA030000000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000...]
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
unreal_tournament_4.bms is not good in reimport mode.
I guess there is some tool called u4pak that users use and it's discussed on this forum too.
I guess there is some tool called u4pak that users use and it's discussed on this forum too.
-
- Posts: 290
- Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:48 am
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
aluigi wrote:unreal_tournament_4.bms is not good in reimport mode.
I guess there is some tool called u4pak that users use and it's discussed on this forum too.
I would not recommend using pak file reimport modding as a way of modding Unreal Engine 4 games that you purchased on steam or Epic Game Store.
New version of EAC anticheat and anti tamper hook the pak-handing function and signature-check function and make sure the signatures match the originals and modifying PAKs can get you banned on certain online games.
It also doesn't work for new versions of UE4 after 4.22 or 4.23 if I remember correctly.
If it's offline, go ahead. But for new online games using EAC, it's risky.
You can build new PAKs that you place alongside the original PAKs or sideload a mod-enabler dll that let's you run unpacked assets from the Content folder.
That way, you don't get any broken PAKs or modify any existing files and the anti cheat will not be checking signatures against your files.
-
- Posts: 220
- Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 3:28 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
Hey, I just wanna ask for the game Story of Seasons: Friends of Mineral Town.
Can you fix this? for the Script Zip
Link:https://zenhax.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13854
Can you fix this? for the Script Zip
Link:https://zenhax.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13854
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
@MuslimCyberGames
Eh no, the ZIP format is a different complex thing and reimporting can't work with it (for various reasons).
Eh no, the ZIP format is a different complex thing and reimporting can't work with it (for various reasons).
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:51 am
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
Hi! Help me guys
This script extract .pck AKPK files fine, but when I try to import files using reimport/reimport2, the program does not process what has been changed in the exported folder. Can you please tell me how to import modified file into the archive? What am I doing wrong?
script:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1l1NDNw ... sp=sharing
example pck file:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Jf5524 ... sp=sharing
Django Reinhardt and classic music for Mafia DE need your help
This script extract .pck AKPK files fine, but when I try to import files using reimport/reimport2, the program does not process what has been changed in the exported folder. Can you please tell me how to import modified file into the archive? What am I doing wrong?
script:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1l1NDNw ... sp=sharing
example pck file:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Jf5524 ... sp=sharing
Django Reinhardt and classic music for Mafia DE need your help
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
@VObject
Try replacing this part:
with:
Try replacing this part:
Code: Select all
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE SIZE 0
log MEMORY_FILE 0 0
append
log MEMORY_FILE OFFSET SIZE
append
callfunction getTYPE 1
if PC == 0
endian big
endif
string NAME += EXT
log NAME 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILE
Code: Select all
string NAME += "."
log NAME OFFSET SIZE
if PC == 0
endian big
endif
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:51 am
Re: REIMPORT2 mode - no size limits
aluigi wrote:@VObject
Try replacing this part:with:Code: Select all
putVarChr MEMORY_FILE SIZE 0
log MEMORY_FILE 0 0
append
log MEMORY_FILE OFFSET SIZE
append
callfunction getTYPE 1
if PC == 0
endian big
endif
string NAME += EXT
log NAME 0 SIZE MEMORY_FILECode: Select all
string NAME += "."
log NAME OFFSET SIZE
if PC == 0
endian big
endif
Unfortunately, import still failed, but now it looks like this: