Mass Effect Andromeda

Extraction and unpacking of game archives and compression, encryption, obfuscation, decoding of unknown files
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

yeah, you were right, thanks
Image

not on github, as im at work, will upload there later, so attached here for now

greetz WV
lyutor1945
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by lyutor1945 »

warrantyvoider wrote:yeah, you were right, thanks
Image

not on github, as im at work, will upload there later, so attached here for now

greetz WV


This is awesome!! WV, you're a real scrip-master:) This day just keeps getting better:)
samwins
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by samwins »

Weird, I'm trying to export
VFS/ROOT/game/characters/human/hmm/0_heads/hmm_head_steven/pca/textures/diffuse_mean.res
from FS/TOC/Patch\Win32\globals.toc/win32/game/mastersharedbundle
but for some reason there's no preview and when I'm trying to export, nothing happens, any ideas?
Other textures work fine, but for some reason diffuse_mean and normal_mean don't.
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

samwins wrote:Weird, I'm trying to export
VFS/ROOT/game/characters/human/hmm/0_heads/hmm_head_steven/pca/textures/diffuse_mean.res
from FS/TOC/Patch\Win32\globals.toc/win32/game/mastersharedbundle
but for some reason there's no preview and when I'm trying to export, nothing happens, any ideas?
Other textures work fine, but for some reason diffuse_mean and normal_mean don't.


why do you think there exists a texture plugin for export and import? also dunno how often I said this before, resdata IS NOT the pixeldata!! res data contains a chunk id, and the chunk with THAT id has the actual pixel data, but thats all nothing you should have to care about, because theres a plugin! if you dont see it, check the "unblock dll" problem (rightclick every dll and in properties unblock it)

greetz
samwins
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 1:41 pm

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by samwins »

warrantyvoider wrote:
samwins wrote:Weird, I'm trying to export
VFS/ROOT/game/characters/human/hmm/0_heads/hmm_head_steven/pca/textures/diffuse_mean.res
from FS/TOC/Patch\Win32\globals.toc/win32/game/mastersharedbundle
but for some reason there's no preview and when I'm trying to export, nothing happens, any ideas?
Other textures work fine, but for some reason diffuse_mean and normal_mean don't.


why do you think there exists a texture plugin for export and import? also dunno how often I said this before, resdata IS NOT the pixeldata!! res data contains a chunk id, and the chunk with THAT id has the actual pixel data, but thats all nothing you should have to care about, because theres a plugin! if you dont see it, check the "unblock dll" problem (rightclick every dll and in properties unblock it)

greetz


It's the same in texture plugin, every other texture works except those two. In 1.05 version there's a texture, in 1.06 everything just blank.
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

Im not home, but first thing i see is you look into patchfolder. Otherwise im pretty sure it exists as i use those alot for testing. Maybe repair game with origin

Ps: you said you overwrote the res with dds data... so no way to extract a valid chunk id for pixeldata and preview
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

ok,you are NOT crazy, it is indeed true that the chunk to the pixeldata is in a patchfile instead, and I was only looking into the same bundle for the chunk id
Image

also fixed the bugs in the mesh plugin
Image

now on github

greetz WV
spinal
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 10:35 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by spinal »

Hi WV,


Another thing : I've found out that higher lods chunk are not located in the same bundle or same toc but may be in another toc altogether. For the meshes I've tested, they were in chunks0.toc.

Whether or not, all will be there or may be found in yet other toc files, I cannot tell.

I used this bit of code to search for chunks:

private ChunkInfo SearchLodChunk(string sid)
{
ChunkInfo lodChunk = chunks.Find(c => c.id == sid);
if (lodChunk == null)
{
foreach (var oneTocChunks in tocChunks.Values)
{
lodChunk = oneTocChunks.Find(c => c.id == sid);
if (lodChunk != null)
break;
}
}
return lodChunk;
}

Hope this helps.
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

I still dont understand why you dont wanna chat with me, thanks, will test and include this

greetz WV
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

changes:
-added looking for high res meshes
-added context menu to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-added button "collapse all" to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-LOD 0 is now default preview

Image

thanks again to spiney

now on github

greetz WV
Snowpiercer
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:08 pm

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by Snowpiercer »

warrantyvoider wrote:changes:
-added looking for high res meshes
-added context menu to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-added button "collapse all" to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-LOD 0 is now default preview

thanks again to spiney

now on github

greetz WV


Great stuff WV.

I tried ripping some meshes after the game out and found that they were deformed, after exporting the same meshes I can see they're exactly the same. Not sure why they would be like this but it's unfortunate.

For example: female Angara (face is squashed if you can't tell):

ripped (Ninja Ripper) on one side, exported on the other
Image

profile:
Image

Just wanted to share.

Edit:
data paths:
ROOT/win32/game/levels/hubs/hub_aya/hub_aya_level2
ROOT/game/characters/angara/0_heads/agm_agf_head_base01/agm_agf_head_base01_model_mesh

Here's one that's completely *SPAM* up:

Image

ROOT/win32/game/ui/paperdolls/bundles/bb_paperdoll_vetra
ROOT/game/characters/turian/tuf/0_heads/tuf_head_base01/sam_tuf_head_vetra_skinned_mesh

From what I've seen it looks like it only effects the head meshes.
Last edited by Snowpiercer on Mon May 15, 2017 8:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

Dunno if you forgot to include an image, but i cant see anything. Anyway if anything, i need bundle and res path. Thats why i added the context menu to the trees.

Greetz wv
OClear
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by OClear »

GOTBLZ wrote:I don't know how else to explain it to you. Ok tell me, when you re-imported a texture into DAI, and went in-game, did the texture you edit show up only when you were far away from the object with the texture? Because if the LOD 0 existed it would take priority over the lower LOD that you edited. Just by roughly calculating the textures of the male customized faces, if all LOD0 textures existed there would be 500MB just in 10 items, that is not counting the females custom faces, or their hair, or the armor models etc etc etc...


Here's an idea to find out if games like DAI are truly cooked or not. Use a process of elimination to find hidden data. All the game data is stored in the cas/cat files by SHA1, right? So, process all the sb files, and make a note of whether a certain chunk is being used. Then count them all up. If all the game data is being used, then every single chunk will be in use. If not, then there's hidden data.
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

Are you still here?! Do you have more great ideas others already had? What do you think the search plugin is for? Man you are so smart, you should write the tools. In fact, its open source, make a plugin yourself after all your demands, maybe it even works at the end
Renmiri
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:52 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by Renmiri »

OClear wrote:Here's an idea to find out if games like DAI are truly cooked or not. Use a process of elimination to find hidden data. All the game data is stored in the cas/cat files by SHA1, right? So, process all the sb files, and make a note of whether a certain chunk is being used. Then count them all up. If all the game data is being used, then every single chunk will be in use. If not, then there's hidden data.


We know for a fact DAI is cooked, if you had bothered to read the DAI forum you would see it there. And see the months, even years of research put on it..

Why don't you start doing some research or coding yourself instead of wanting others to do it for you ?
OClear
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:36 pm

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by OClear »

warrantyvoider wrote:Are you still here?! Do you have more great ideas others already had? What do you think the search plugin is for? Man you are so smart, you should write the tools. In fact, its open source, make a plugin yourself after all your demands, maybe it even works at the end


I wasn't replying to you, so bud out. And I haven't given up on the game, just you.
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

Snowpiercer wrote:
warrantyvoider wrote:changes:
-added looking for high res meshes
-added context menu to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-added button "collapse all" to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-LOD 0 is now default preview

thanks again to spiney

now on github

greetz WV


Great stuff WV.

I tried ripping some meshes after the game out and found that they were deformed, after exporting the same meshes I can see they're exactly the same. Not sure why they would be like this but it's unfortunate.

For example: female Angara (face is squashed if you can't tell):

ripped (Ninja Ripper) on one side, exported on the

Just wanted to share.

Edit:
data paths:
ROOT/win32/game/levels/hubs/hub_aya/hub_aya_level2
ROOT/game/characters/angara/0_heads/agm_agf_head_base01/agm_agf_head_base01_model_mesh

Here's one that's completely *SPAM* up:


ROOT/win32/game/ui/paperdolls/bundles/bb_paperdoll_vetra
ROOT/game/characters/turian/tuf/0_heads/tuf_head_base01/sam_tuf_head_vetra_skinned_mesh

From what I've seen it looks like it only effects the head meshes.


I can verify this, I think the problem here is that this is a skinned mesh and i havent found the bone data to apply yet. Also obj cant hold bone information, so I have to add export as psk at some point anyway. As far as ive seen tho this is the true mesh data (unless spiney sees another bug :p) that gets exported.

Greetz wv
GOTBLZ
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 4:21 pm

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by GOTBLZ »

OClear wrote:Here's an idea to find out if games like DAI are truly cooked or not. Use a process of elimination to find hidden data. All the game data is stored in the cas/cat files by SHA1, right? So, process all the sb files, and make a note of whether a certain chunk is being used. Then count them all up. If all the game data is being used, then every single chunk will be in use. If not, then there's hidden data.


Ok here's an idea, if you really want to find answers to your questions, get off your arse, and learn to code software, and then write a plugin to find out if you should be making demands before know what can be done and what can't... If you aren't willing to do that, then we're not willing to waste time looking for something there is no point in looking for.
spinal
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 10:35 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by spinal »

warrantyvoider wrote:
Snowpiercer wrote:
warrantyvoider wrote:changes:
-added looking for high res meshes
-added context menu to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-added button "collapse all" to all trees in texture/mesh plugin
-LOD 0 is now default preview

thanks again to spiney

now on github

greetz WV


Great stuff WV.

I tried ripping some meshes after the game out and found that they were deformed, after exporting the same meshes I can see they're exactly the same. Not sure why they would be like this but it's unfortunate.

For example: female Angara (face is squashed if you can't tell):

ripped (Ninja Ripper) on one side, exported on the

Just wanted to share.

Edit:
data paths:
ROOT/win32/game/levels/hubs/hub_aya/hub_aya_level2
ROOT/game/characters/angara/0_heads/agm_agf_head_base01/agm_agf_head_base01_model_mesh

Here's one that's completely *SPAM* up:


ROOT/win32/game/ui/paperdolls/bundles/bb_paperdoll_vetra
ROOT/game/characters/turian/tuf/0_heads/tuf_head_base01/sam_tuf_head_vetra_skinned_mesh

From what I've seen it looks like it only effects the head meshes.


I can verify this, I think the problem here is that this is a skinned mesh and i havent found the bone data to apply yet. Also obj cant hold bone information, so I have to add export as psk at some point anyway. As far as ive seen tho this is the true mesh data (unless spiney sees another bug :p) that gets exported.

Greetz wv


Hi there,

Noticed that also when doing my tests. Humans head and bodies look mostly good whereas aliens heads are all weird. No clue
why though... Another weird thing I noticed with aliens heads: in blender when running the 'remove doubles' command, there are hundreds or even thousands of vertices removed, unlike what happens for humans...
I guess we should wait for the export with the bones to see if this fixes this mess or not, before looking deeper into the mesh export.

Speaking of which, I've made some progress with psk export but blender seems to remove some bones when importing the skeleton which results in more weirdness...

I'll try to post more info about bones when I have some time after work tonigh.
warrantyvoider
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:44 am

Re: Mass Effect Andromeda

Post by warrantyvoider »

awesome^^