Offbreak 0.3

Do you know a tool, link or website for working on a specific game files or to help game research? Let's collect them here!
rengareng
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:29 am

Re: Offbreak 0.3

Post by rengareng »

It breaks on ntdll.DbgUiRemoteBreakin. When I continue, it go through offbreak_*.dll
aluigi
Site Admin
Posts: 12984
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm

Re: Offbreak 0.3

Post by aluigi »

Exactly that's the expected behaviour :)
There you should have an INT3 with RAX pointing to the data read from the file.
The rest is just normal debugging, if you want to return to the program you must first return from offbreak and from the Windows APIs that have been called for reading the data... but you should not care about that because your interest are the operations made on the data read from the file (hardware bp).
rengareng
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:29 am

Re: Offbreak 0.3

Post by rengareng »

thanks, it's really hard to follow assembly. In x64dbg, I cannot put conditional breakpoint.
I want to set IDA as JIT debugger. I don't know how to do for 64 bit.
I know the Aedebug registry entry. However, using idaq64 -I1, does not change entry for x64. It sets for the one under the Wow6432Node.
Do you have any knowledge about it?
Or can you suggest a good x64 debugger?
aluigi
Site Admin
Posts: 12984
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm

Re: Offbreak 0.3

Post by aluigi »

You need Administrator privileges to do that operation.

If offbreak still loads the old debugger (may happen), check the following registry keys:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AeDebug\Debugger
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AeDebug\Debugger