Possible next features of QuickBMS
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
QuickBMS 0.9.2 is now available.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:50 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
Discovered an excellent program QuickBMS, but there are a couple of questions:
1. Is it possible to add a command line option to disable automatic guessing of the extension based on the contents of the extracted files?
2. Unfortunately, I did not find any instructions for building QuickBMS on Windows from sources. Do I need any special settings, libraries, compilers?
Many thanks to the author for the tremendous work!
1. Is it possible to add a command line option to disable automatic guessing of the extension based on the contents of the extracted files?
2. Unfortunately, I did not find any instructions for building QuickBMS on Windows from sources. Do I need any special settings, libraries, compilers?
Many thanks to the author for the tremendous work!
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
1)
Usually people just use a static name in the script for dumping files with a fixed extension.
For example:
Basically it depends how really useful would be such option because there are already many options in quickbms and a simple script patch can do the job
2)
The current version of quickbms includes most of the libraries in its own source code but there are still some external ones, for example xcompress.lib (from the Xbox SDK) and openssl.
Everything else is already there and should work with make
I use a big .bat file for doing the job with many optimizations.
Usually people just use a static name in the script for dumping files with a fixed extension.
For example:
Code: Select all
string NAME p "%d.dat" i
log NAME OFFSET SIZE
Basically it depends how really useful would be such option because there are already many options in quickbms and a simple script patch can do the job
2)
The current version of quickbms includes most of the libraries in its own source code but there are still some external ones, for example xcompress.lib (from the Xbox SDK) and openssl.
Everything else is already there and should work with make
I use a big .bat file for doing the job with many optimizations.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:50 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
aluigi wrote:Basically it depends how really useful would be such option because there are already many options in quickbms and a simple script patch can do the job
Many thanks for pointing this out. Your code works great. For example, in zlb1a.bms I did like this:
Code: Select all
math i = 0
for OFFSET = OFFSET < EXE_SIZE
[...]
string NAME p "%08x.dat" i
if CHECK == 0x005d # lzma
clog NAME OFFSET SIZE SIZE
else
log NAME OFFSET SIZE
endif
math OFFSET = NEXT_OFFSET
math i += 1
next
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
Good
In your case another solution would have been to use OFFSET instead of "i" since it's a sequential format and "i" wasn't available.
In your case another solution would have been to use OFFSET instead of "i" since it's a sequential format and "i" wasn't available.
-
- Posts: 416
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
Possible next features of QuickBMS: add text importing in bigger size
Text. not archive
Text. not archive
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
Text works perfectly.
The problem is that sequential texts can't be supported in reimport2 because it's not possible to set the new offset, it's the same rule for both files and text.
The problem is that sequential texts can't be supported in reimport2 because it's not possible to set the new offset, it's the same rule for both files and text.
-
- Posts: 416
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
aluigi wrote:Text works perfectly.
The problem is that sequential texts can't be supported in reimport2 because it's not possible to set the new offset, it's the same rule for both files and text.
i dont have anything to say anymore but these
Text Without Offset
if text or file does not ahve any offset, then we dont need to set any offset and this option will help aloooot in text files! i write a lot of script for localization files but you say offset,
i do not talk about offset. i talk about Without Offset!
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
If you don't have an offset then you can't put longer text, it's exactly what I said.
OFFSET: ok, put the text at the end of the file and set the new offset
NO OFFSET: you can't put 100 bytes on a string of 90 bytes and you can't put the new string at the end because there is no reference to the new location
OFFSET: ok, put the text at the end of the file and set the new offset
NO OFFSET: you can't put 100 bytes on a string of 90 bytes and you can't put the new string at the end because there is no reference to the new location
-
- Posts: 416
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
aluigi wrote:If you don't have an offset then you can't put longer text, it's exactly what I said.
OFFSET: ok, put the text at the end of the file and set the new offset
NO OFFSET: you can't put 100 bytes on a string of 90 bytes and you can't put the new string at the end because there is no reference to the new location
Just replace old data with new data and then set a new size
we dont have offset and even can do it with hex too
act just like force mode and just update size too, its realy help in localization files
archive will not break because there is no offset
If i replace 99 byte with 100byte and change size, file will work because there is no offset
why you dont want to accept it?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
I accept if you don't understand a programming language but I do NOT accept your complete lack of any logic.
I hope you are just joking.
Feel free to put a bus in the garage for a car.
I hope you are just joking.
Feel free to put a bus in the garage for a car.
-
- Posts: 416
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
aluigi wrote:I accept if you don't understand a programming language but I do NOT accept your complete lack of any logic.
I hope you are just joking.
Feel free to put a bus in the garage for a car.
no. i am serious, this option can help a lot in game localization
my complete lack of any logic? I apologize for that.
and yes, but a bus on garage
and i forgot to say something
dont leave empty spaces with \x00, because some games will scan texts like (get TEXT string)
so archive is ok. but text will corrupt. and size must be re-set too
i mean, put a bus in garage. and put a bike in garage
Thank you aluigi
i dont do off-topics anymore, sorry.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
quickbms in reimport2 mode already sets the correct size if offset is not available.
Everything works perfectly.
My suggestion with sequential data (when offset is not available) is to use reimport.bat instead of reimport2.bat or the whole format will be screwed.
If you don't want the padding zeroes I guess the only solution would be to use spaces when you edit the string and being sure to match the original size... difficult, moreover when using non-english languages.
For the next version of quickbms I can check if I can replace zeroes with spaces in reimport mode when using Slog command.
Everything works perfectly.
My suggestion with sequential data (when offset is not available) is to use reimport.bat instead of reimport2.bat or the whole format will be screwed.
If you don't want the padding zeroes I guess the only solution would be to use spaces when you edit the string and being sure to match the original size... difficult, moreover when using non-english languages.
For the next version of quickbms I can check if I can replace zeroes with spaces in reimport mode when using Slog command.
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 12:49 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
aluigi - working with your dll and i have to say it is just perfect work ALl in 1 lib is something what everyone can dream on .... Thx again i hope you gonna keep update it as your qbms..
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
I'm very happy that finally it works well
-
- Posts: 218
- Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:04 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
aluigi wrote:I'm very happy that finally it works well
not available in forum? a dll with a collection compression?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12984
- Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
The dll is available at:
http://aluigi.org/papers/quickbms_dll.zip
And you can find some usage examples in the previous pages, for example:
viewtopic.php?p=35965#p35965
http://aluigi.org/papers/quickbms_dll.zip
And you can find some usage examples in the previous pages, for example:
viewtopic.php?p=35965#p35965
-
- Posts: 218
- Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:04 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
aluigi wrote:The dll is available at:
http://aluigi.org/papers/quickbms_dll.zip
And this you can find some usage examples in the previous pages, for example:
viewtopic.php?p=35965#p35965
Great! thanks!
-
- Posts: 416
- Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:22 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
and something about text importing (an other thing about it): dont use space in reimport! because its text! and even need to be smaller. so you must resize it too and add a new size and file should will be smaller in resize text without-offset files (cost it! not space it)
-
- Posts: 165
- Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:00 am
Re: Possible next features of QuickBMS
@Shokoniraya: QBMS reimports texts/files and do NOT repack them. Still don't know what you don't understand on that.
QBMS is powerful tool, but not almighty. So if you want repacker, you have to make it by yourself (or find somebody else to do that).
QBMS is powerful tool, but not almighty. So if you want repacker, you have to make it by yourself (or find somebody else to do that).